Student Competition

Winners of the 2018 competition:

  • Presentation:
    • Timo Adam
    • Meridith Bartley
    • Louise McMillan
    • Wei Zhang
    • Matthew Farr (Distinction)
    • Andrea Havron (Distinction)
  • Poster:
    • Rick Camp
    • Simon Kapitza
    • Rory Gibb (Distinction)




Students who submit abstracts to ISEC 2018 are encouraged to submit their names for the Student Poster and Presentation Competitions. The competitions aim to promote participation in the conference by graduate students and to recognize outstanding work by junior researchers.


The competitions are open to all current students or to students who completed their degree requirements no earlier than December 31, 2016. Entrants may submit joint work with colleagues provided that the student presents the work and has made a major contribution to the research. All entrants must submit their abstract before the regular submission deadline, January 15, 2018 and must enter the competition when the abstract is submitted.  Separate competitions will be held for oral presentations and for posters.  Abstracts may be submitted to either competition. To remain in the competition, submitted abstracts must be accepted by the scientific committee.  Students who submit abstracts for oral presentations that are accepted as posters will be automatically switched to the poster competition. Entrants will be notified about acceptance around mid-February 2018.  All entrants must attend the conference and are responsible for their own travel and accommodation expenses.

Format and Judging

Accepted posters and presentations will be included in an appropriate place of the conference program and evaluated by a subset of the plenary speakers. Judging criteria will for both competitions will include the technical contribution, innovation, and the quality of the presentation.  Competition winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on the morning of July 6.

Further Information

Inquiries about the competitions may be sent to the chair of the Student Competition committee, Simon Bonner (